Project 8 Week 11 – Craft Show Display

This project is one of my favorites, and is possibly the closest to the principles of Reduce, Reuse, Redecorate of any of my projects so far.  It’s a craft show display, made from pieces of styrofoam packing material, with a little cardboard thrown in there.

One of the reasons that I’ve been so busy over the past few weeks was that I was participating in two holiday craft markets.  And for weeks, I’d been trying to figure out how to best display my coasters and pencil cups.  I was planning on building some sort of grid/cubby system out of corrugated cardboard but was quickly running out of time.  Then I was leaving my apartment one day when I spotted these really interesting pieces of styrofoam sitting outside one of my neighbors apartments.  I suddenly thought, I bet I could do something fun with those!!

I’m not sure what they were protecting, but these were definitely straight out of a box holding something interesting I’m sure!  I didn’t really change the styrofoam at all, I just glued the pieces together and started decorating.  I used a lot of Tacky Craft Glue to hold things together, but the beauty of styrofoam is that while the glue is drying, I could use T-pins to hold everything in place.  I removed some later after everything was dry, but most of them I simply left in place, just for extra strength.

I then used some brown craft paper, some wrapping paper scraps and some plain old printer paper to decorate the styrofoam up a bit.  I also created more finished shelves out of cardboard, partly for a look, and sometimes simply to extend the shape of the styrofoam into an actual shelf.  Additionally I did build a small cardboard cubby section for one end, that I designed specifically to display my collection of pencil cups.

Thanks for reading!

Ciao for now, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 8 Week 11 – Craft Show Display

  1. Ann says:

    Very clever shelving – looks great and how nice to find a better use for the Styrofoam than taking up space in a landfill… at least for now! I watched Trash Inc recently and am still thinking about it – wow. Full episode can be seen online if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

