Water Taxi Heaven

So I was planning on showing you guys this side project I just completed, but yesterday was a very gray and rainy day here in NYC and my already light-challenged apartment was even darker and grayer than usual, which meant I wasn’t able to photograph the project.  Instead I figured I’d focus on happier (and sunnier) memories of my Ikea trip from last Friday.  It was a GORGEOUS day here in NYC, low 70’s sunny weather, with a nice breeze to keep you cool and I knew it was the perfect day to take the Water Taxi across to the Ikea in Redhook, Brooklyn.

Seriously, how can you argue with a commute that has a view like this??  There’s the South Street Seaport (labeled Pier 17), the Brooklyn Bridge and the financial district in Lower Manhattan.  (That’s the lovely bright yellow Water Taxi boat in the foreground.)  You can even see the tiny Empire State Building in the background!

The trip lasts approximately 10 minutes, and goes from Lower Manhattan down along the ‘coast’ of Brooklyn, past the Statue of Liberty and Governor’s Island and finally around the tip of Redhook to Ikea.  It really is possibly the best way to get to an Ikea ever.  Of course when you are lugging home bags and bags of supplies and bulky items and you happen to hit rush hour on the subway its not quite as much fun, but hey, its still better than sitting in rush hour traffic!

(That’s Governor’s Island with all the brown trees, and then Lower Manhattan behind it.  You can just barely see the Brooklyn bridge in the background, though the brown color blends in.  More visible is the Manhattan Bridge (the white one) which is a bit further up the East River from the Brooklyn Bridge.)

All in all it was worth every minute, plus I got to stock up on some great items at Ikea!  I might have to make the trip a few more times while the weather is nice, and before I start my jobs in May.

Ciao for now, and here’s hoping the sun comes back out and we can all enjoy a little bit of Spring!  (And maybe I can get a few project photos taken care of.)

Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Water Taxi Heaven

  1. Ann says:

    Loved seeing your journey! Basel didn’t get to come along on this supply-gathering excursion?

  2. No, unfortunately not… I contemplated it, but I figured that I would be so loaded down coming home that I didn’t want to have to add on the additional weight of Basel in his carrying case. The little guy isn’t so little anymore, he weights 11.5 lbs now!

  3. NATALIA says:

    Hi!! I know your blog today, its very creative. I like so much….
    I go on around here a litle bit more ;D
    Kisses from Madrid

Leave a Reply

