Project 19 Update – New Lights!

So I know I’ve been a bit MIA this week.  I could pretend I’ve been super busy working on my cabinet, but honestly I’ve spent a lot of time sitting in my favorite chair, staring at my cabinet, feeling daunted.  I did finally start working on it, but its going to be a bit bigger of a project than I first anticipated, so that update will have to wait for later.  So for today instead, I have an update on Project 19, and two new lights to show you guys!

I know, I know, this was supposed to be a new 30x30x3 project, but I’ve been feeling a bit daunted recently on that front too.  I think as I get closer to the end of my journey I’m feeling the pressure to make some really kick-ass projects, and I’ve always found that high expectations tend to put a damper on my craftiness.  But, I’m proud to say I have conquered my fear and I have a new project in the works, its just taking a bit longer than anticipated…  Hopefully I’ll have something to show you guys soon!

So for now, my new lights.  As was discussed, I recreated my original book pages pendant using circles instead of the shingle form, and I’m much happier with it!  This time I used pages from a phone book, since I always have a ton of those lying around.  I also made the circles smaller overall, for a more varied look.  I think it came out pretty well!

I had so much success with this light, that I decided to take the technique and run with it.  I had this really funky shaped table lantern that I had bought from Pottery Barn Teen, with the express ambition to cover it with something.  This time I used a bunch of old road maps that I had gotten from my parents house along with the old books.  I think I used pieces from five different maps, since I wanted a more varied look.  I think they are all from France though, just at different scales.  (One is even a city map from Paris I believe.)  I liked that some maps show mountains, and some show city blocks.

I think the maps also make this light especially interesting in daylight, since there are so many different colors and visual details to catch your eye.  This is especially important given the shape of the original lantern.  Because its primarily a cone shape, the pages pretty much lay flat along the body of the lantern, creating a simpler silhouette than the original artichoke lights.  But, with the intense visual interest from the maps, I don’t mind as much as I thought I might at first.  Would this work the same with pages from an old book?  I honestly don’t know.  But, it would be pretty cool with different maps, like maybe NYC subway maps?  I can’t wait to explore the options!

So for now, I hope you enjoyed my new lights, both of which you can find in my lighting shop on Etsy.  What paper medium would you use to recreate these lights?  Do you have a favorite book or map that you’d use for your own light?  I’d love to hear your ideas in the comments section.

Ciao, and remember to always stay crafty!  Allison

P.S.  Music is a huge part of my life, and I’m always listening to something while I craft.  (Unless of course I’m watching a fun movie!)  I thought it would be fun to start bringing in a bit of the music I’m listening to while working on any given project, as a feature of sorts.  Today my songs of choice are “The Story” by Brandi Carlile and “How We Operate” by Gomez, both songs featured in last night’s “Grey’s Anatomy” musical episode.  I just couldn’t get them out of my head, so I had to run right over to iTunes and download them.  So, what are you listening to right now?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project 19 Update – New Lights!

  1. keishutter says:

    Great post! Thanks for the tips!

  2. CraftyLady says:

    These are amazing! Do you use anything to stiffen the paper? How do you keep the pages so fluffy? Does it ever go limp?

Leave a Reply

