Happy Spring!

“The spring came suddenly, bursting upon the world as a child bursts into a room, with a laugh and a shout and hands full of flowers.”

- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Zipper8Lighting Painted Rose Centerpiece 1

Well, spring hasn’t exactly burst upon the world here in NYC, it is 35 and windy today, but there are a few flowers beginning to poke their heads out in the park which gives me hope.  Since today is the official first day of spring I thought it was the perfect occasion to post a few photos of the new centerpieces I’ve been working on for Zipper 8 Lighting.  My most recent post was about the centerpieces Elizabeth and I did for the Sing for Hope Gala last October, and since then we’ve been really excited to design new centerpieces, with summer weddings in mind.

Zipper8Lighting Painted Rose Centerpiece 2

This first new design features two full roses and a rose bud, all of varying sizes and colors.  Each petal is cut out of heavy weight paper and then hand painted individually with watercolors.  The colors could obviously be designed to custom match someone’s color scheme, and there could be a bit of flexibility in rose sizing but only a bit because each rose is built around some sort of hollow shape allowing us to light them up from inside.

Zipper8Lighting Painted Rose Centerpiece 3

Our second design features three larger flowers constructed from hand dyed coffee filters.  Again there would be some flexibility when it came to color scheme and flower size, especially if someone was more interested in a different number of smaller or larger flowers.  I think a line of big poofs down the center of a long table would be pretty spectacular.  Or you could even hang them above the table for extra drama.

Zipper8Lighting Coffee Filter Flower Centerpiece 1Zipper8Lighting Coffee Filter Flower Centerpiece 2

The next planned photo shoot will involve mixing and matching different types of flowers, and showing them in place on a table as they would look for an actual event.  I think we are going to try a long runner as well, with the various different flowers intermixed down the length of the table.

Zipper8Lighting Coffee Filter Flower Centerpiece 4Zipper8Lighting Coffee Filter Flower Centerpiece 3

I’m super exited to see these on an actual table with votive candles and everything.  It will also be interesting to see the different amounts of light each flower gives off.  Hopefully I will have some of those photos to show you very soon!

Happy first day of Spring everyone, Allison

Update:  These are lit up by battery powered LED lights, so not only do you not need a power source, but the lights stay completely cool to the touch so there is no risk of fire (just don’t put them too close to any real candles!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Spring!

  1. carol says:

    ABSOLUTELY FEMININE………………BREATHTAKINGLY BE….autiful !!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Jesse says:

    Very Nice as usual! I love the colors, I don’t see any wires… either you hid them incredibly well or these are battery operated, which is great!

  3. Laurence W says:

    Your flowers are so beautiful and I ‘m impressed by the ones made with coffee filters! So amazing !

  4. Marianne Foster says:

    I accidentally unsubscribed to your blog. I went to the WordPress site and cannot figure out to resubscribe.

    Can you add me back or send me a link.

    Please help!

    Thank you,

    Marianne Foster

    • Hi Marianne,

      Sorry I just noticed your comment. Honestly I have no clue how to subscribe you to the blog, I’m relatively clueless when it comes to WordPress. Maybe you can search google for info on how to re-subscribe? I’m so sorry I can’t be more helpful!

      Allison

  5. You are great! I find your ideas wonderful. Greetings from Bavaria, Ina

  6. jet says:

    awesome, love it, sooooo beautiful and pretty, and full of live, well done
    thank you for the sharing;-D

  7. amy says:

    I love your designs the flowers look amazing!!! I just found your blog, and I spend too much time on it, instead of studdiing :)

  8. Chris says:

    The flowers look beautiful, thank you for this creative idea!

  9. Sorry for necropost – but your paper flowers are absolutely fantastic!
    Do you have a tutorial on how to make them?

Leave a Reply

