Past Work – Plastic Pear

I’ve been working with recycled and repurposed materials long before I started this blog, and I thought it might be fun to feature some of my past projects.

This piece is from 5 years ago, when I was in college and about to start a sculpture class.  I was told the first project would be taking one object, and constructing it out of a bunch of different materials.  I got all excited and started planning what I would do.  Then I got to class and learned we were using air dry clay to make lots of different objects that were simply inspired by our one original object.  I was disappointed, but decided that I could just do my own projects outside of class.  And this is what I ended up with.

The object?  A pear.  The material?  Plastic silverware.

I have to say, pulling this off the shelf to photograph it looked a lot sadder than I had remembered.  In fact, I’d call it a bit of a hot mess.  The glue had come out very yellow, which you can clearly see in between the silverware.  And on top of that I had left hot glue strings everywhere.  That was just sloppy technique.  And then for some reason I had decided to make this more of a relief than a sculpture.  The difference?  My pear has no back.  Why, I’m still not sure…

But, never the less, I still kind of love it.  It may be a bit sad up close but from a far, its just the kind of kooky project I adore.  So, it is happily going back onto my bookshelf where it lives next to a smaller metal pear that I made at the same time.

So take a closer look at the world around you, because you never know what crazy material you’ll stumble on tomorrow that could become lasting art (in a loose sense of the word…)

Happy Friday all, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

