Project 30 Week 30 – Circular Paint Chip Art

Happy Mother’s Day!!

I am so excited, because with this post I will have successfully completed my 30x30x3 journey, and on time too!  I couldn’t be happier with the projects I’ve completed, and I can’t wait to keep going with some new projects, and maybe some new features as well. For now I have some really fun new paint chip art, created from different sized circles.

I know I’ve posted paint chip art before, but that technique was so different from this one I felt these pieces deserved their own post.  I did have another project in mind for this final celebration, but it just didn’t quite come together in time.  (And I mean that both figuratively AND literally, I have pieces lying around my apartment that just won’t piece together properly!)  My hope is to have that project to show everyone at a later date, but for now I’m just happy to celebrate with these fantastic pieces of art.

All of these pieces are created from circles of three different sizes, 1 1/2″, 1″ and 1/2″.  I used three different sized circle punches to cut them out and then simply layered them on top of each other as I started gluing.  I also had fun experimenting with different sized pieces of paper as my template.  The largest is 8×10, with a mat for an 11×14 frame.  I love this size.  Then I made two in the original style, at a 5×7 size with an 8×10 mat, and I like these but I’m not crazy about the size.  The final little ones are in mats for a 5×7 frame, and the openings are either 3×5 or 4×6.  As you can see I played around with the style of the little ones, using a slightly different technique, and I think they are pretty fun!

I started experimenting with using a singular color palette, as you can see in this turquoise version, and I think it is a fun variation.  I have to explore what other color palettes would look good, I tried one in pale grays and blues, the colors from some of my other paint chip art, and I didn’t think it looked quite as good, but I haven’t finished that piece yet so it could still surprise me.

This may not have been the project I was planning, but it certainly has quite a celebratory look (especially those small ones, they remind me of confetti!)  I actually purposely decided that I would punch circles over the names, at least for the smallest size, and I like how you can see all that text in those two confetti-esqu pieces, I think it adds another dimension, plus its fun to read the names when you get close enough!

I’m hoping to have some other new projects going soon, but at the same time I just started my new job this week and so it will take a little bit of adjusting to my new schedule.  But, the benefit of teaching is that at least 2 days a week I have the afternoon free, so I’m hoping I’ll have lots of time to keep making new projects.

To all the mother’s out there, Happy Happy Mother’s Day, and a lovely Sunday to everyone!  Ciao, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Project 30 Week 30 – Circular Paint Chip Art

  1. You’re right, I forgot to mention that I’d originally gained inspiration from this Pinterest post: http://pinterest.com/pin/6846091/ But, I decided to take the visual concept of the circles and use it for art, as opposed to a garland like in the original post.

    A

  2. Trisha says:

    I LOVE this and I ran out right away to get the paint chips to make my own. My circles are bigger but I want my piece of art as a whole to be bigger so I think that will work out well. Thanks for the great idea.

    • Fantastic! I mostly felt constricted by the size of the circle punches that I could find, but at the same time most of my paint chip stash that I have lying around is from Benjamin Moore, and their paint chips aren’t super large so I couldn’t get too big a circle out of each chip. But, I think the scale is just fine for the 8×10 format that I was working with. I agree that for a larger piece of art, larger circles would probably look nicer, though it depends how busy you want your image to be! I actually liked having some variety when I did the smaller pieces, thats why I did a couple with just the smallest size circle, there was something about the multi-colored busyness that really appealed.

      Good luck with your piece of art, I hope you are thrilled with the results! Allison

  3. Katherine says:

    I featured this on my blog today!

  4. Kelly O says:

    Holy cats, this is gorgeous! Very Color Field-y. Well done. Love it!

  5. Pingback: True Colors | We Art Family! The DMA Family Blog

  6. MIS says:

    Thanks for the inspiration- I made some whimsical paint chip faces!
    http://dontmisit.blogspot.com/2011/09/paint-chip-art.html

  7. Hena Tayeb says:

    Looks fun and colorful.

  8. Pingback: It’s a good idea to use free paint chips:

  9. Dena says:

    I recently made a similar project, however, using cardstock and painstakingly tracing and cutting!! Aside from robbing home improvement stores of their paint chip aisle, where do you get such a large collection?? This may be a silly question, but, asking’s free right??!! Thanks!

    • Its not a silly question, but I don’t have an easy answer. I didn’t ‘rob’ the paint chip aisle, as you put it, but I did get all of my paint chips there spread out over many years and many different home decorating projects! Between my apartment, my parents apartment, their home in Connecticut plus various other interior design projects I have probably considered most colors in the rainbow. Everytime I do a new project I like to collect as many options as I can and then slowly whittle them down over days and looking at different lighting conditions, etc. But, I always knew I’d find an awesome project to do with the discarded paint chips one day so I carefully collected and saved them over the years in a big box. What is equally fun is now I can pull out colors from specific projects and make art that is specifically themed to match a certain room in a certain house. (Which works even better with my striped paint chip art project.)
      One thing to think about is that none of these projects use all that many paint chips, so if you really needed them you could go and take just 5-10 cards in the colors you needed, I don’t think anyone would mind that. If you really felt you needed more and didn’t have them saved up from other projects then I would recommend purchasing a paint chip fan deck, like interior decorators use. They probably cost $20-30 but then you get hundreds of paint chips all together. You’ll only have one of each color but if you are doing something multi-colored that shouldn’t matter.
      I hope this helps! Allison

  10. Pingback: Erasable Paint Chip Calendar | the 3 R's blog

  11. Pingback: Reduce, Reuse and Redecorate! | Ótima Blog!

  12. Jamie says:

    I love everything about this! The repurposing of the paint chips, the unlimited amount of combinations, the bright colors…I am certainly going to be trying this over the holidays. I loved this idea so much I mentioned you on my blog: http://libraryoflagniappe.blogspot.com/2011/12/s-art-urday.html
    Thanks so much for the inspiration!

  13. Pingback: Craft, Home Decorating and Artwork Projects Made With Paint Chips

  14. Beth says:

    I think this is so great. How else to incorporate all the specific colors in a room. I just completed my version, but, I’m curious about the framing. It doesn’t look like a typical mat. I love the way you framed it. It almost looks like 2 frames. How did you do the framing?

  15. Most of the photos show the pieces as is, with simple single mats. But maybe you are looking at the last photo? That is a digital compilation showing the piece as if it was framed in a white frame and with a white mat, maybe that’s what looks like a double mat? You can certainly purchase simple double mats at places like Michaels, I recommend bringing your piece to the store with you so you can test out the various looks. Good luck!
    Allison

  16. Pingback: Sprucing Up the Nest, Part 1 | Sweet Little Nest

  17. Pingback: Wall Art | Pearltrees

  18. Pingback: 80+ Best DIY Paint Chip Projects

  19. Pingback: Paint Chip Decor | Dormify

  20. Pingback: Pinterest Paint Chip Art «

  21. Kristin says:

    This is FANTASTIC! I will be doing this in the very near future. How did you adhere everything though? (Both to the other paint chips in the bulls eye and to the background paper.) Glue stick? Hot glue gun? Curious!

    • Originally I used these sticky tape dots that came in a handy dispenser (something I picked up at Michael’s) which worked well, but eventually the tape started loosing strength. You can also use white craft glue, just beware of the moisture causing warping. When I did another project using the craft glue I would stop every now and then and let it dry with a heavy book on top to keep it flat. Hot glue is always my first choice, but I was worried it might make the whole project too three dimensional. Usually I build each bulls-eye as I go, right onto the composition, but you could certainly create a bunch of bulls-eyes with craft glue and then glue them all onto one composition with hot glue, to keep the 3D-ness limited. Just a thought… Personally I find glue sticks are great, but they are always messier than I would want and the glue loses its adhesion over time.
      Good luck! Allison

  22. Pingback: DIY Paint Chip Crafts (Best Ideas) - Craftionary

  23. Pingback: Pinterest Paint Chip Art | Storypiece

  24. Pingback: Pop art with paint chips | Misadventures in craft

  25. Pingback: Jumping the DIY Shark | Freely Learning

  26. Pingback: quadro astratto cartoncini colorati

  27. Pingback: Top Ten Craft Ideas For Kids | Creative Arts & Crafts For Kids | Articulate

  28. Pingback: 41 Creative Paint Chip Crafts - Do Small Things with Love

  29. Pingback: Project 30 Week 30 - Circular Paint Chip Art - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

  30. Pingback: ペイントチップで作っちゃお♪子どももできる簡単クラフト27個 | Joie Make

  31. Pingback: Cool DIY Crafts Made With Paint Swatches

Leave a comment