Project 12 Week 17 – Paint Chip Business Card Holder

Question, who out there loves paint chips?

I do, I do!  (Jumping up and down in my seat, waving my hand in the air.)

They are only the awesomest thing out there in the world (and yes, ‘awesomest’ is totally a word.)  Not only are they highly functional, but they are pretty and come in lots of great colors!  If you couldn’t have guessed, I only have about 100 of them lying around my house, and finally decided to try and make something out of them.

The first project I started with was making a super cool business card holder out of Behr paint chips (from the Home Depot.)  I started with the tutorial I found here.  Now this was a good tutorial, the one problem is that it was really designed to make holders for the Moo mini cards.  The skinnier card size allows for a larger overlap when folding the holder.  As you can see with my holder that I made from this template, I needed to use a piece of tape to secure the overlapping edge since it was so thin the glue wouldn’t hold.

So, I decided to take what I had learned and design my own version.  By switching the orientation from vertical to landscape, I was able to wrap the full width of a standard business card using two separate pieces of paint chip, allowing for a larger overlap.  I chose to make this test version with two separate colors, but obviously you could use two sheets of the same colors.  The biggest problem I had was trying to line up the white stripes, next time I’ll probably just forgo that and make a statement by specifically not lining up the white lines.  There are probably other changes I’d make, to come up with the perfect design, but that’s for a different day.

I also had a bigger problem this time with the paint rubbing off the bended edges, but I think that was the scoring tool I used.  As I said, just another detail to be worked out in the future.

Enjoy!  And come back soon for some more great paint chip projects, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment