Flower Blossoms, a Picnic and Paint Chips

This past week has been crazy for a bunch of reasons, including the ridiculous weather we’ve been having in NYC!  Today is cold and rainy, and its been a both warm and cold over the last week.  Specifically last Monday it reached a high of 81 degrees!  Luckily Basel and I had a chance to enjoy it, because we had been invited to have a picnic in Central Park with my best friend.  We found a great spot right under this beautiful flowering tree that I dubbed a Weeping Cherry (since we didn’t know what the tree actually was, and it seemed like a fitting name.)  Our picnic was lovely, and relaxing, and I even managed to get a tiny bit of a tan, just enough to banish the paleness of winter.

I figured that the thing I needed most to kick the “rainy day doldrums” was some pretty photos of flowers, and Basel of course!  He was the happiest puppy, he kept just flopping over and rolling around in the grass like he just couldn’t believe his luck that we got to hang out in the park all afternoon.

I’ll hopefully have another 30x30x3 project to post tomorrow (its drying right now, and then if the light is good tomorrow I can photograph it and get it posted!)  But for now I’ll leave you with a few pics of the latest paint chip art project I’ve been working on.  I was inspired by this photo that I saw on Pinterest.  This is actually an image from an Etsy store where she is selling a garland of paint chips, but I loved the concept and figured I could make my own as art.  I punched the circles out with paper punches, sized 1 1/2″, 1″ and 1/2″.  The paper is 8×10, and I haven’t decided if I’m going to mat it for an 11×14 frame, or if I’m going to leave it as is for an 8×10 frame, and I’m not sure if I’m going to add more circles or not.  But, this is a just a little preview, I’ll take more final photos once I’m finally officially done with it.  I also might experiment with doing a few limited color versions, or maybe some with just one size circle or another.  We’ll see!

Ciao for now, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flower Blossoms, a Picnic and Paint Chips

  1. Tiffany B. says:

    I love your dog – so cute! I used to have a weiner dog. Also I love the paint chip circles. I might have try that one myself as well. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Teeny Trend: Colourful Circles - mirror mirror

  3. Pingback: Paint Chip Bookmark | All Crafts

Leave a comment