Project 11 Week 17 – Shredded Newspaper Lantern

Most people have a paper lantern or two lying around the house, but they can get pretty boring very quickly, so this week’s project is focused on rethinking that old standard!

I had the newspaper already shredded from an old school project (for anyone who cares, its The New York Times).  Many of the pieces are simply black and white text, but there is also a lot of color.

I made a mixture of water, glue, and some Mod Podge and just started laminating the pieces on there.  I did about 1/4 of the lantern the first night, and left it to dry only to wake up the next day and find that I hadn’t used enough glue and all the pieces had curled up and were falling off.  So I rubbed the failed pieces off, and started again.  But this time I learned from my mistakes and made sure to add a good solid final coat of Mod Podge or varnish on top of the paper pieces before leaving them to dry.  And success!

I love the mixture of the newsprint and the pops of color, and this was a totally fun and fresh start for a tired old lantern!

And of course, if you love this light but aren’t sure about making your own, you can always come on by my Etsy shop and buy one of mine!

Stay warm and dry, Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Project 11 Week 17 – Shredded Newspaper Lantern

  1. ThatgalJill says:

    How cute would that be with a collection of fortune cookie fortunes?

    • That is an amazing idea! I can imagine it would look great with the red and white color palette!! Now I just need to collect fortunes. I wonder if you can buy them in bulk, I guess I’ll just have to google it to find out! Thanks for the suggestion, I love when people can take my projects and get creative in their own way. If you try this out, make sure to come back and let us all know.

  2. Linda Leyble says:

    Hi- you have such creative ideas! Love them all. I think they do sell fortune cookie fortunes in bulk. Somehow that was saved in the recesses of my brain – for future use…like now!

    Love your bottle cap ideas. Can u buy them in bulk – or do you just have to have a lot of parties?!?!

    Great ideas!

    Linda

  3. Pingback: Amazing ways to make your own handicraft using tissue paper - Singapore's craft supplies

  4. Pingback: 10 Crafty Ways to Use, Reuse, and Recycle Yesterday’s News

  5. Pingback: 10 Crafty Ways to Use, Reuse, and Recycle Yesterday's News - Green Gestures Green Gestures

  6. Pingback: craft

  7. Pingback: 25 Creative Ideas to Craft With Newspaper

  8. Pingback: 25 Creative Ideas to Craft With Newspaper – Hari Guide

Leave a comment